Festival

Folklore holidays and festivals

The spiritual and cultural life of Georgia is rich and varied. The country always hosts interesting festivals, cultural events, theater performances and concerts. We present to your attention the places where you can spend an unforgettable time and plunge into the cultural life of the country with a real Georgian flavor.

folklore festival – «Art Gene»  (June-July)

The annual folklore festival «Art Gene»  is held in different regions and traditionally finishes in Tbilisi. In the fabulous atmosphere of the festival, you can enjoy traditional Georgian singing, perky national dances, get acquainted with local martial arts, take part in various master classes and buy handicrafts as a souvenir. The nine-day extravaganza, each year held in a different theme, ends with a grand gala concert at the Ethnographic Museum of Tbilisi.

«Tbilisoba»  – Day of the City of Tbilisi (October)

«Tbilisoba» – vibrant celebration of the city’s day, held every year on the first weekend of October. For tourists «Tbilisoba»  is a great opportunity to get acquainted with the traditions of the country and, of course, enjoy a bright and unforgettable show. Every year the event is held on a larger scale, attracting travelers from different countries. Guests are given a unique opportunity to see folk dances, hear the famous Georgian choral singing and buy some priceless souvenir made by local craftsmen.

Folklore Days in Batumi (August)

The festival is traditionally held throughout August – from the last weekend in July to the last weekend in August. The unique Georgian folklore is of great interest to foreign guests. Free concerts were held daily from 20:00 on Batumi Boulevard near the Alphabet Tower. The organizer of the festival is the State Folklore Center of Georgia with the support of the National Tourism Administration. The event is held within the framework of the state project Check in Georgia.

Folklore festival «Svanetoba»  In Mestia (July)

The best way to get acquainted with the centuries-old traditions of the Svans is to visit the  «Svanetoba» folklore festival, which is held on the last weekend of July. The festival is held to acquaint guests with the centuries-old traditions of the highland region. Traditionally, visitors to the festival will enjoy a varied cultural, entertainment and gastronomic program. Gastronomic exhibitions are organized with dishes of the Svan national cuisine, which are not known to the general public.

Agro-festival in Ratcha  (August)

In the annual Agro-festival, which is held at the end of August, guests will find colorful cuisine, wine and sweets from the Ratcha-Lechkhumi region.Visitors will have the opportunity to taste and purchase local organic production: wine, honey, ham, nuts, dairy and meat products, dried fruits, apples, raspberry vinegar and more. The program of the Agro-festival includes entertainment, educational and cultural events, as well as concerts with the participation of local folklore groups.

Folk holiday «Shuamtoba»  (August)

The ancient Adjarian folk holiday «Shuamtoba»  is celebrated in the mountainous village of Beshumi (Adjara) on the first weekend of August. It was during this period that the population went from the valleys to the mountains, to alpine pastures, where the inhabitants of mountain villages graze cattle. Traditionally, on this day, horse races, competitions in various sports are held, guests of the festival are treated to traditional dishes, folk and pop ensembles perform.

Folk holiday «Tushetoba»  in Omalo (August)

The traditional holiday, «Tushetoba»  (Shepherd’s Day), takes place every year in July-August in one of the most picturesque regions of Georgia – Tusheti, in the high-mountainous village of Omalo. This is a spectacular open-air festival featuring works by local and invited handicraftsmen. Traditional folk competitions are held in archery, horse racing, tug-of-war, lifting heavy bags and stones.

Folk holiday «Shatiloba»  in Shatili (August-September)

In late August – early September, in one of the most beautiful high-mountainous regions of the country of Georgia – Khevsureti, the «Shatilob»  folk holiday is celebrated, which is accompanied by a large-scale festival. Various cultural and sports events are held: horse races, demonstrations of Georgian martial arts, fire show, concerts with the participation of folklore ensembles and much more. On this day in Shatili, Khevsurian beer is brewed and traditional local treats are prepared.

Gastronomic Festivals

Festival of Georgian cheese in Tbilisi (July)

The Georgian Cheese Festival is held in Tbilisi Park – Mtatsminda, in the second half of July. Visitors can taste cheese products and take part in master classes. Cheese in wine, in «chacha» , in beer, with honey, with nuts, with bitter and sweet peppers and market novelties, which guests of the festival will learn about directly on the spot. Apart from companies, representatives of the capital and regional cheese shops will be represented at the festival.

Ice Cream Festival in Tbilisi (July)

The traditional ice cream festival in the midst of the hot Tbilisi summer, in mid-July, is hosted by the Tbilisi park – Mtatsminda. Interest in the event is growing every year. Within the framework of the festival, participating companies organize numerous prize draws, which do not leave the guests of the event without gifts. Guests can try both traditional sorts of cool desserts and new, original flavor combinations. The smallest audience is expected by animators and a costume show.

Fruit Festival in Mtskheta (September)

The Georgian National Tourism Agency is holding a Fruit Festival in the ancient capital of the country, Mtskheta. Festival guests can enjoy the best Georgian fruits and sweets. And also get a huge charge of positive energy. The festival in Mtskheta is only the first stage of similar festivals all over the country. Similar promotions are held in different parts of the country every weekend until mid-September.

Bread Festival in Tbilisi (October)

The festival provides an opportunity for bakeries and other bakery manufacturers to present their products. The event is held in the open festive space of the Tbilisi Botanical Garden. At the bread festival, you can taste and purchase your favorite products. The idea of founding the festival was born from the fact that the collections of the Tbilisi Botanical Garden contain ancient and rare samples of Georgian grain culture, including almost disappearing varieties.

Tbilisi Chocolate Festival (November)

The chocolate festival is held in the Tbilisi National Botanical Garden in the first decade of November. Festival participants are both local producers and imported chocolate companies. Guests of the holiday will find slab and hot chocolate, a chocolate fountain, tea, coffee, mulled wine, hot buns and other delicacies. In addition, the festival will be decorated with a Christmas tree and Santa Claus. The free event is held in the open festive space of the Event Square Botanical Garden.

Wine festivals

Young Wine Festival in Tbilisi (May)

The New Wine Festival is held in Tbilisi Park – Mtatsminda. Every year more and more new family wineries and wine companies join the event. By this time, the wine from the autumn harvest, which wintered in earthen vessels -«Qvevri» , ripens. More than fifty varieties can be tasted and immediately bought, find out how and where it was made, what it is combined with. In addition to wine, of course, cheeses, hot bread, smoky kebabs are presented at the festival, and all this is seasoned with playful toasts, national dances and military performances.

Telavi Wine Festival (October)

The annual festival «Telavino»  on the first weekend of October is timed to the end of the grape harvest – «Rtveli».  By tradition, he opens the Days of Georgian Wine – «Gvinobistve» , which last for 2 more weeks. The pavilions located in the center of Telavi display up to 100 different types of wine, «chacha»  and brandy made in large and small cellars. After tasting wine at the wine fair, residents and guests of the city can enjoy ethnographic expositions and folk and musical performances, as well as visit an exhibition and sale of products with a general wine theme.

Festival  of «Chacha»  in Telavi (November)

The «Chacha » festival takes place on the first weekend of November in the heart of the Kakheti region – in the city  Telavi. The event is attended by Georgian «Chacha»  companies. Within the framework of the festival, small theatrical performances are held that revive the Kakheti region of the 18th century – its ethnography, rituals, as well as Kakhetian peasants and the process of distilling «Chacha»  according to the traditions of different parts of Kakheti. The festival program also includes performances of Kakhetian folklore groups, the performance of traditional Kakhetian polyphony, the declaration of poems impromptu and much more.

Festival

Фольклорные праздники и фестивали

Духовная и культурная жизнь Грузии богата и разнообразна.  В стране всегда проходят интересные фестивали, культурные мероприятия, театральные представления и концерты. Представляем вашему вниманию места, где вы сможете провести незабываемое время и  окунуться в культурную жизнь страны  с настоящим грузинским колоритом.

 

фольклорный фестиваль  Art Gene  (Июнь-июль)

Ежегодный фольклорный фестиваль «Art Gene»  проходит в разных регионах, и финиширует традиционно в Тбилиси. В сказочной атмосфере фестиваля можно насладиться традиционным грузинским пением, задорными национальными танцами, познакомиться с местными боевыми искусствами, принять участие в различных мастер-классах и приобрести товары народных промыслов в качестве сувенира. Девятидневная феерия, каждый год проходящая в разной тематике, завершается грандиозным гала-концертом в этнографическом музее Тбилиси.

«Тбилисоба »– День города Тбилиси (Октябрь)

Яркое празднование дня города, проводится  каждый год в первые выходные октября.  Для туристов «Тбилисоба» —прекрасная возможность ближе познакомиться с традициями страны  и, конечно, насладиться ярким и незабываемым зрелищем. С каждым годом событие проводится со все большим размахом, привлекая путешественников из разных стран. Гостям предоставляется уникальная возможность увидеть народные танцы, услышать знаменитое грузинское хоровое пение и прикупить какой-нибудь бесценный сувенир, изготовленный местными умельцами.

Дни фольклора в Батуми (Август)

Фестиваль традиционно проводится в течение всего августа – с последних выходных июля до последних выходных августа. Уникальный грузинский фольклор вызывает высокий интерес иностранных гостей. Бесплатные концерты проходили ежедневно с 20:00 на Батумском бульваре возле Башни алфавита. Организатор фестиваля — Государственный центр фольклора Грузии при поддержке Национальной администрации туризма. Мероприятие проходит в рамках государственного проекта Check in Georgia.

Фольклорный фестиваль « Сванетоба» В Местиа (Июль)

Познакомиться с многовековыми традициями сванов лучше всего, посетив фольклорный фестиваль « Сванетоба», который проводится в последние выходные июля. Фестиваль  проводится для  знакомства гостей с многовековыми традициями высокогорного региона. Посетителей фестиваля традиционно ждут разнообразная культурно-развлекательная и гастрономическая программа. Устраиваются гастрономические выставки с блюдами сванской национальной кухни, которые не известны широкой публике.

Агро-фестиваль в Рача в Они (Август)

В ежегодном  Агро-фестивале, который проводится в конце августа, гостей  ждут колоритная кухня, вино и сладости из региона Рача-Лечхуми, Посетителям будет возможность попробовать и приобрести местное экологически чистое производство: вино, мед, ветчину, орехи, молочные и мясные продукты, сухофрукты, яблоки, малиновый уксус и многое другое. В программе Агро-фестиваля запланированы развлекательно-познавательные и культурные мероприятия, а также концерты с участием местных фольклорных коллективов.

Аджарский народный праздник  «Шуамтоба» (Август) 

Древний аджарский народный праздник «Шуамтоба» отмечают в высокогорном селе Бешуми (Аджария) в первые выходные августа. Именно в этот период из долин население отправляется в горы, на альпийские пастбища, где жители горных сел пасут скот. По традиции в этот день устраивают скачки, соревнования по различным видам спорта, Гостей фестиваля угощают традиционными блюдами, выступают фольклорные и эстрадные ансамбли.

Народный праздник «Тушетоба» в Омало (Август)

Традиционный праздник, «Тушетоба»(День пастуха) , проходит каждый год в июле-августе в одном из самых живописных краев Грузии – Тушети, в высокогорном селе Омало. Это зрелищный фестиваль под открытым небом с  представленыем работ местных и приглашенных мастеров народного промысла. Проходят традиционные народные состязания в стрельбе из лука, скачках, перетягивании каната, поднятии тяжелых мешков и камней, а также прыжках на бурке.

Народный праздник «Шатилоба» в Шатили (Август-Сентябрь)

В конце августа – начале сентября в одном из самых красивых высокогорных регионов страны Грузии- Хевсурети,  отмечается народный праздник «Шатилоба», который  сопровождается масштабным фестивалем. Проходят различные культурные и спортивные мероприятия: скачки, демонстрация грузинских боевых искусств, огненное шоу, концерты с участием фольклорных ансамблей и многое другое. В этот день в Шатили, варят Хевсурское пиво и готовят традиционные локальные угощения.

Гастрономические Фестивали

Фестиваль грузинского сыра  в Тбилиси (Июль)

Фестиваль грузинского сыра проводится в Тбилисском парке — Мтацминда,  во второй половине июля. Посетители могут продегустировать сырную продукцию и принять участие в мастер-классах. Сыр в вине, в чаче, в пиве, с медом, с орехами, с горьким и сладким перцем и новинки рынка, о которых гости фестиваля узнают непосредственно на месте. На фестивале кроме компаний будут представлены представители столичных и региональных сырных магазинов.

Фестиваль мороженого в Тбилиси (Июль)

Традиционный фестиваль мороженого в самый разгар жаркого Тбилисского лета, в середине июля, принимает тбилисский парк — Мтацминда. С каждым годом интерес к мероприятию возрастает. В рамках фестиваля компании-участники организуют многочисленные призовые розыгрыши, которые не оставляют без подарков гостей мероприятия. Гости могут попробовать как традиционные сорта прохладительного десерта, так и новые, оригинальные вкусовые сочетания. Самую маленькую аудиторию ожидают аниматоры и костюмированное шоу.

Фестиваль фруктов в Мцхета (Сентябрь)

Национальное агентство туризма Грузии проводит Фестиваль фруктов в древней столице страны- Мцхета. Гости фестиваля могут насладиться лучшими грузинскими фруктами и сладостями. А также получить огромный заряд позитивной энергии. Фестиваль в Мцхета — только первый этап подобных фестивалей по все стране. Аналогичные акции проходят в разных уголках страны каждый уикенд до середины сентября.

Фестиваль  хлеба в Тбилиси (Октябрь)

Фестиваль дает возможность хлебопекарням и другим производителям хлебобулочных изделий представить свою продукцию. Мероприятие проводится на открытом праздничном пространстве тбилисского ботанического сада. На празднике хлеба можно попробовать и приобрести понравившуюся продукцию. Идея основания фестиваля родилась из того факта, что в коллекциях ботанического сада Тбилиси хранятся древние и редкие образцы грузинской зерновой культуры, в том числе почти исчезающие сорта.

Фестиваль шоколада в Тбилиси (Ноябрь)

Фестиваль шоколада проводится в тбилисском Национальном ботаническом саду в первой декаде ноября. Участники фестиваля — как местные производители, так и импортные компании по производству шоколада. Гостей праздника ждет плиточный и горячий шоколад, шоколадный фонтан, чай, кофе, глинтвейн, горячие булочки и другие лакомства. Кроме того, фестиваль украсят новогодняя елка и Санта-Клаус. Бесплатное мероприятие проводится открытом праздничном пространстве Ботанического сада Event Square.

Винные фестивали

Фестиваль молодого вина в Тбилиси (Май) 

Фестиваль нового вина проводится в Тбилисском парке —  Мтацминда. С каждым годом к мероприятию подключаются все больше новых семейных виноделен и винных компаний. К этому времени созревает вино с осеннего сбора урожая, которое зимовало в глиняных сосудах -«Квеври». Более полусотни сортов можно продегустировать и тут же купить, узнать, как и где изготавливалось, с чем сочетается. Кроме вина, разумеется, представлены на фестивале сыры, горячий хлеб, дымный шашлык и все это приправляется шутливыми тостами, национальными танцами и боевыми постановками.

Фестиваль вина в Телави  (Октябрь)

Ежегодный фестиваль «Телавино» в первые выходные октября приурочен к завершению сбора урожая винограда –«Ртвели». По традиции он открывает Дни грузинского вина — «Гвинобистве», которые длятся еще 2 недели.  В павильонах, расположенных в центре Телави, представлены до 100 различных наименований вина, чачи и бренди, изготовленных крупными и маленькими погребами. Жители и гости города после дегустации вина на ярмарке винной продукции могут насладиться этнографическими экспозициями и фольклорными и музыкальными выступлениями, а также посетить выставку-продажу изделий с общей винной тематикой.

Фестиваль «Чача»  в Телави  (Ноябрь)

Фестиваль «Чача» проходит в первые выходные ноября в сердце региона Кахети — в городе Телави. В мероприятии принимаю участие грузинские компании-производители чачи. В рамках фестиваля проходят небольшие театральные представления, которые оживляют Кахетинский край XVIII века — его этнографию, ритуалы, а также кахетинских крестьян и процесс перегонки чачи по традициям разных уголков Кахети. В программе фестиваля и выступления кахетинских фольклорных групп, исполнение традиционного кахетинского многоголосия, декларирование стихов экспромтом и многое другое.