Tourist Suvenirs

Georgian souvenirs and gifts

It’s no secret that almost every traveler dreams of bringing a memorable souvenir from his trip or buying an unusual new thing. In Georgia, this feeling is especially acute in the last days before leaving, because tourists are constantly surrounded by warmth, care and insane hospitality of the local population. By and large, gifts for every taste, color and cost can be found in Georgia. As in any other country popular with travelers, there are points with purely tourist prices and goods.

It will not be easy to choose gifts on the spot. There are souvenir stalls on every corner, but they mainly sell a variety of trinkets. If you want something unusual, exclusive and unique, it is better to know in advance what and where to look for. It is quite easy to find very good souvenirs in Georgia. They will not cost very much, and look 100 times better than all the bored magnets or mugs. We have collected the most interesting, relevant and useful options for souvenirs that you can buy in Georgia.

Georgian wines

Wine is an art souvenir, without which many people from Georgia do not return. A real Khvanchkara or Kinlzmarauli is already a great gift. And if you buy good wine in an original ceramic vessel, it will not only be a good souvenir, but will also remind you of the Georgian feast for a long time. Good local wine should not be bought from supermarkets, but only from small private wineries. First you try, then you decide which variety you like best and then buy. Homemade Chacha is a Georgian analogue of grape vodka, a good gift and it is also better to buy it at small wineries, where it is driven according to old recipes.

Homemade cheeses

There are a lot of cheeses in the country and they are all delicious and varied, and most importantly natural. But we recommend only two types for transportation: Imeretian and Sulguni. By the way, it is Imeretian cheese that is used as a filling in khachapuri. In stores, usually only a few varieties are found. There are much more varieties on the market – salted, slightly salted, smoked, braided and regular cheeses. And also, at the bazaar they are allowed to taste, and this is important, since the taste can be specific. If you choose cheese as a gift, it is better to buy those varieties that are stored longer. For example, smoked Sulguni can be stored for up to a year, and fresh (unsalted) for 7 to 10 days.

Georgian spices

For those who have friends or acquaintances who are fond of culinary delights, we recommend taking a closer look at the local spices and sauces. The most famous Georgian spice is Svan salt, which is an aromatic, relatively inexpensive and very popular spice in Georgia. In addition to Svan salt, look at other spices: dry Adjika, Coriander, khmeli-Suneli, and the like. You can buy condiments at the market or in the supermarket. The spices will look more presentable in the store, and aromatic in the bazaar. If you decide to buy seasonings on the market, roll them in several bags, otherwise you risk getting your things with a characteristic smell upon arrival.

Georgian sauces

With sauces, things are easier. During your rest, you will surely have time to try, if not all, then at least a couple and take note of the most delicious. It is impossible to imagine Georgian cuisine without them. Spicy, aromatic, made exclusively from natural vegetables, fruits and spices. You can choose sauces where it is more convenient (in the market or in a store). Such a gift will not quickly deteriorate and will certainly delight the happy owner with the taste. Most often brought: Satsebeli, Tkemali and Adjika. In Georgia, these sauces are simply unrealistically tasty. You can safely take both factory and homemade sauces, they are stored for an equally long time.

Georgian sweets

The first to come to mind is a variety of Churchkhela. You can buy in the markets (worse quality) or in small farms (subjectively tastier and definitely cheaper). There are Churchkhela with walnuts and hazelnuts, and depending on the syrup: dark from the Saperavi variety and light Rkatsiteli (but in the bazaar there are all kinds of colors and sizes). A fresh product bought still shiny and soft is not stored for a long time, although it is very tasty. It can be transported, but it is worth warning the recipient about quickly eating the dessert. But Churchkhela with a little sugar bloom is suitable for long-term savings, harder and sweeter

Georgian jam

Separately, it is worth talking about Georgian jam. The assortment of this product is large and it is not easy to choose an interesting option. Georgia is famous for a wide variety of jams, ranging from traditional berry and fruit jams to exotic jams. On the market you can buy homemade jams, and in stores, jams made at factories: from Figs; Pine cones; Dogwood; Quince; Walnuts; Eggplant; Watermelon and others. We advise you to pay attention to jams made from exotic fruits: feijoa, which grows here, from tangerines or kiwi.

Georgian honey

Honey in Georgia is an exquisite sweetness. The country has a huge variety of natural, viscous and aromatic honey. As a gift, you can buy, for example, unusual citrus honey or wild bee honey, which is considered a real delicacy. Mountain honey collected on the high slopes of Georgia cannot be compared with anything. It is natural, fragrant, viscous. The variety of types of honey is amazing. Popular among tourists are tangerine, acacia, walnut blossom, chestnut honey. There is a specialized honey store in Tbilisi, where you can taste any kind of honey.

Georgian dried fruits

Of course, not all fruits grown in the country are convenient and expedient to transport. Especially too soft and juicy. But hard ones, such as Chiri (dried fruits), are worth a try. In Georgia, dried fruits are produced from almost all types of fruits – Apple, kiwi, pear, fig, tangerine, grapes, watermelon, melon, tkemali, plum, bushmal. Dried persimmons are also called natural sweets. It is just as sweet, but there is not a single gram of artificial products in it. The fragrant southern fruit in ancient times received the title of “fruit of the gods”. We also recommend that you bring your friends a feijoa. This unusual fruit is very healthy.

Georgian “Tklapi” (pastila)

Another unusual dessert is marshmallow or Tklapi (dry thin round sheets of fruit puree). It’s both sweet and versatile. In direct translation from the Georgian language “Tklapi” means “dried plum puree in the sun”. In form and composition, it is not at all similar to the well-known oriental pastille. It is prepared from natural fruits (traditionally from cherry plums or plums), but today there are many varieties of Tklapi, including berries, nuts and exotic fruits (for example, from kiwi). Especially popular with children. The composition of the marshmallow does not include sugar, therefore, such a dessert is often “sour”.

Georgian Tea

On the territory of Georgia, as before, the local population grows delicious and aromatic tea, although, they say, not in such quantities. A lot of products are exported. The famous Georgian tea is an inexpensive but pleasant gift. It is better to buy it in a tea shop or at a grocery market. Supermarkets sell elite varieties of Georgian tea – for example, “Prince Gurieli”. This variety takes prizes at various tea exhibitions and tastes very good – tart, strong, rich in shades. You can buy tea directly in the place where it is grown, in the regions of Adjara and Guria.

Clay pots

Nice pottery will be a good gift for real hostesses. It is especially worth paying attention to Ketsi – a kind of frying pan. It is “multifunctional” and is suitable for almost any heating surface (including stove or open fire). In Georgia, dishes are often served on it even in restaurants. A jug for wine or other alcoholic beverages is quite suitable for the male part as a gift. Such a present will surely be remembered for a long time. The easiest way to buy pottery is during a tour of the country or at the market in the city.

Vitreous Enamel (Minankari)

he fair half will undoubtedly appreciate the original jewelry gift (ring, pendant, bracelet or brooch) from the famous Vitreous Enamel – Minankari. The present is quite bright, distinctive, typically Georgian and quite affordable for a beloved and dear person. There are jewelry made of silver, gold, copper and platinum. All products are unique in every sense – they are made by hand. In addition to Minankari, more customary gold and silver jewelry is sold in Georgia. Vitreous Enamel is a labor-consuming and complex enamel technique and everything you find will be handmade.

Georgian Theka (felt)

Theka, felt products are ideal for a gift. Felt technique in Georgia is one of the oldest in folk applied art. The first felt samples were discovered during excavations, which date back to the 2nd millennium BC. In Georgia, many talented designers work with this technique and use felt in their art. Almost everything is made of felt: scarves, blouses, dresses, bags, toys, hats, slippers and even beads. All the variety of products of all colors and shades can be purchased or just looked at the souvenir markets of Georgia.

Religious souvenirs

Georgia is a very religious country. It is not surprising that in every city there is a huge number of temples and, accordingly, church shops. The range of some of them is amazing. In addition to icons, crosses and chains, you can see cute boxes, fragrant honey and quite presentable wine. As an option: a thin bracelet with the words “Save and Preserve” inscribed in Georgian, bought in the church, will be a good gift. It even happens in gold or silver.

Antique things

Unusual items are best found in antiques stores. They look bright and always catch the eye of tourists. Alternative – Flea market “Dry Bridge”. Here you can also find original items of Soviet, Eastern European and Georgian origin. Exquisite candlesticks, ancient musical instruments, magnificent paintings, silverware and much more. If there is a desire and time, you can visit the Samgori market (or Navtlugi, the locals call the bazaar this way and that). Sometimes you can find very good things on it (much more attractive and cheaper than on a dry bridge).

Paintings by local artists.

What better way to preserve memories of a place than its image. Images of their native country were transferred to their canvases by David Martiashvili, Elene Akhvlediani, Niko Pirosmani, Zurab Tsereteli, Lado Tevdoradze. And if not everyone can afford the picture of the famous master, then the Flea Market on the Dry Bridge will help out the budget tourist. pictures are sold there are very good and can be found for different tastes. It is here that contemporary artists present their works on various topics: from urban landscapes to funny animal painting.

Tourist Suvenirs

Грузинские сувениры и подарки

Не секрет, что практически каждый путешественник мечтает привезти из своей поездки памятный сувенир или прикупить необычную обновку. В Грузии это чувство особенно обостряется… в последние дни перед отъездом, ведь туристов постоянно окружает тепло, забота и безумное гостеприимство местного населения.  По большому счету, в Грузии можно найти подарки на любой вкус, цвет и стоимость. Как и в любой другой популярной у путешественников стране, здесь есть точки с сугубо туристическими ценами и товарами. 

Определиться с подарками на месте будет не просто. Сувенирные ларьки есть на каждом углу, но торгуют они, в основном, разнообразными безделушками. Если хочется чего-нибудь необычного, эксклюзивного и неповторимого, лучше заранее узнать что и где надо искать. В Грузии довольно легко можно найти очень хорошие сувениры. Они и стоить будут не очень дорого, и выглядят в 100 раз лучше всем приевшихся магнитиков или кружек. Мы  собрали самые интересные, актуальные и полезные варианты сувениров, которые Вы сможете приобрести в  Грузию.

Грузинское вино

Вино это арт-сувенир, без чего многие из Грузии не возвращаются. Настоящая Хванчкара или Кинлзмараули — уже отличный подарок. А если купить хорошее вино в оригинальном керамическом сосуде, то это будет не только хорошим сувениром, но и будет долго напоминать о грузинском застолье.  Хорошее местное вино надо брать не в супермаркетах, а только на небольших частных винодельнях. Сначала пробуете, потом решаете какой сорт больше нравится и потом покупаете.  Домашняя чача — грузинский аналог водки из винограда, неплохой подарок и  тоже лучше покупать на небольших винодельнях, где ее гонят по старинным рецептам. 

Домашние сыры

Сыров в стране очень много и все они вкусные и разнообразные, а главное натуральные. Но к перевозке рекомендуем лишь два их вида: Имеретинский сыр и Сулгуни. Кстати, именно Имеретинский сыр используют как начинку в Хачапури. В магазинах, обычно встречаются только несколько сортов.  На рынке сортов значительно больше — соленые, слабосоленые, копченые, заплетенные в косичку и обычные сыры. А еще, на базаре их дают попробовать, и это немаловажно, так как вкус может быть специфическим. Если вы выбираете сыр в подарок, лучше покупать те сорта, которые дольше хранятся. Например, копченый Сулгуни можно хранить до года, а свежий (несоленый) – от 7 до 10 дней.

Грузинские специи

Для тех, у кого знакомые или друзья увлекаются кулинарными изысками, рекомендуем присмотреться к местным специям и соусам. Самой знаменитой грузинской специей считается Сванская соль.Это ароматная, относительно недорогая и очень популярная специя в Грузии. Помимо сванской соли, посмотрите и другие специи: сухую аджику, киндзу, хмели-сунели и тому подобное. Покупать приправы можно на рынке или в супермаркете. В магазине специи будут выглядеть более презентабельно, а на базаре — ароматно. Если решитесь купить приправы на рынке,  замотайте в несколько кульков, иначе рискуете получить по прилету свои вещи с характерным запахом.

Грузинские соусы

С соусами дела обстоят проще. За время отдыха Вы наверняка успеете попробовать если не все, то хотя бы парочку и взять на заметку самый вкусный. Без них невозможно представить грузинскую кухню. Пряные, ароматные, приготовленные исключительно из натуральных овощей, фруктов и специй.Выбирать соусы можно там, где удобнее (на рынке или в магазине). Такой подарок быстро не испортится и уж точно порадует вкусом счастливого обладателя. Наиболее часто привозят:  Сацебели, Ткемали и Аджику. В Грузии эти соусы просто нереально вкусные. Можете смело брать соусы как фабричного, так и домашнего изготовления, они одинаково долго хранятся.

Грузинские сладости

Первой на ум приходит разнообразная Чурчхела. Покупать можно на рынках (хуже качество) или в небольших хозяйствах (субъективно вкуснее и точно дешевле). Различают Чурчхела с грецкими орехами и фундуком, а в зависимости от сиропа: темную из сорта Саперави и светлую (но на базаре встречаются всевозможных цветов и размеров). Свежий продукт, купленный еще блестящим и мягким долго не хранится, хотя и очень вкусный. Его можно перевозить, но стоит предупредить получателя о быстром поедании десерта. А вот Чурчхела с небольшим сахарным налетом пригодна к длительному сбережению, более твердая и сладкая 

Грузинские варенья

Отдельно стоит рассказать о грузинском  варенье .Ассортимент этого продукта большой и выбрать интересный вариант не легко. Грузия славится самыми разными видами варенья, начиная от традиционных ягодных и фруктовых и заканчивая экзотическими вареньями.  На рынке можно купить домашнее варенье, а в магазинах, изготовленное на фабриках джемы: из Инжира; Сосновых шишек;  Кизила;  Айвы; Грецких орехов; Баклажана; Арбуза  и других. Советуем обратить внимание на джемы из экзотических фруктов: фейхоа, который произрастает здесь же, из мандаринов или киви.

Грузинский мёд

Мёд в Грузии — изысканная сладость. В стране огромное разнообразие натурального, тягучего и ароматного мёда.  В подарок можно купить  например  необычный   цитрусовый мёд  или мёд  диких пчел, который считается настоящим деликатесом. Не с чем не сравнится горный  мёд, собранный на высоких склонах Грузии. Он натуральный, ароматный, тягучий. Многообразие видов меда поражает воображение. Популярностью среди туристов пользуется мандариновый, акациевый, из цветков грецкого ореха, каштановый  мёд. В Тбилиси есть специализированный  магазин  мёда, где можно провести дегустацию любого сорта.

Грузинские сухофрукты

Конечно, не все выращиваемые фрукты в стране удобно и целесообразно перевозить. Особенно слишком мягкие и сочные. А вот твердые – такие как Чири(сухофрукты), попробовать стоит. В Грузии  сухофрукты  производят почти из всех видов фруктов — Яблоко, киви, груша, инжир, мандарин, виноград, арбуз, дыня, ткемали, слива, бушмала.  Сушеную хурму еще называют природными конфетами. Она такая же сладкая, но при этом в нет ни грамма искусственных продуктов. Ароматный южный фрукт в древности получил титул «плода богов». Также Рекомендуем привезти друзьям фейхоа. Этот необычной фрукт, очень полезен.

Грузинский  «Тклапи» (пастила )

Еще один необычный десерт — пастила или Тклапи (сухие тонкие круглые листы фруктового пюре). Это и сладость, и универсальная приправа. В прямом переводе с грузинского языка «Тклапи» означает «сушеное на солнце пюре из сливы». По форме и составу она совсем не похожа на хорошо знакомую восточную пастилу. Готовят ее из натуральных фруктов (традиционно из алычи или сливы), но на сегодняшний день существует множество разновидностей Тклапи, в том числе из ягод, орехов и экзотических фруктов (например, из киви).  Особенно нравится детям. В состав пастилы не входит сахар, поэтому зачастую такой десерт «с кислинкой».

Грузинский Чай

На территории Грузии, как и раньше, местное население выращивает вкусный и ароматный чай, хотя, говорят, уже не в таком количестве. Много продукции идет на экспорт. Знаменитый грузинский чай – недорогой,  приятный подарок. Покупать его лучше в чайном магазине или на продуктовом рынке. В супермаркетах продают элитные сорта грузинского чая — например «Принц Гуриели». Этот сорт занимает призовые места на разных чайных выставках и на вкус очень хорош — терпкий, крепкий, богатый оттенками. Можно купить чай и непосредственно в том месте, где его выращивают, в регионах Аджария и Гурия.

Глиняная посуда

Неплохим подарком для настоящих хозяюшек станет симпатичная глиняная посуда. Особенно стоит обратить внимание на Кеци — своеобразную сковородку. Она «многофункциональна» и пригодна практически для любых нагревающихся поверхностей (в том числе для плиты или открытого огня). В Грузии на ней часто подают блюда даже в ресторанах. Мужской части в качестве подарка вполне подойдет кувшин для вина или других алкогольных напитков. Такой презент обязательно запомнится надолго. Купить глиняную посуду проще всего во время экскурсии по стране или на рынке в городе.

Перегородчатая эмаль (Минанкари)

Ваша прекрасная половина несомненно оценит оригинальный ювелирный подарок (кольцо, кулон, браслет или брошку) из знаменитой перегородчатой эмали — Минанкари. Презент довольно яркий, самобытный, типично грузинский и вполне доступный по деньгам для любимого и дорогого человека. Встречаются украшения из серебра, золота, меди и платины.  Все изделия неповторимы во всех смыслах — делаются вручную. Помимо Минанкари в Грузии продаются и более привычные нам золотые и серебряные украшения. Перегородчатая эмаль — трудозатратная и сложная эмальерная техника и все  что вы найдете, будет обязательно ручной работы.

Грузинская Тэка (войлок)

Тэка, изделия из войлока – идеальный вариант для подарка. Войлочная техника в Грузии – одна из древнейших в народно-прикладном искусстве. Первые войлочные образцы были обнаружены во время раскопок, которые датируются II тыс. до н.э. В Грузии много талантливых дизайнеров работают с этой техникой и используют войлок в своем творчестве. Из войлока делают практически все: шарфы, блузки, платья, сумки, игрушки, головные уборы, тапочки и даже бусы. Все разнообразие изделий всех цветов и оттенков можно приобрести или просто посмотреть на сувенирных рынках Грузии.

Религиозные сувениры

Грузия — очень религиозная страна. Не удивительно, что в каждом городе встречается огромное количество храмов и, соответственно, церковных лавок. Ассортимент некоторых из них поражает воображение. Помимо икон, крестиков и цепочек, здесь можно увидеть милые шкатулочки, душистый мед и вполне презентабельно оформленное вино.  Как вариант: неплохим подарком будет купленный в храме тонкий браслет с нанесенными на грузинском словами «Спаси и сохрани». Бывает даже в золоте или серебре.

Антикварные вещи

Необычные вещи лучше всего искать в магазинах антиквариата. Выглядят они ярко и всегда бросаются в глаза туристам. Альтернатива — Блошиный рынок «Сухой мост». Здесь  можно найти и оригинальные вещи советского, восточноевропейской и  грузинского происхождения. Изысканные подсвечники, древние музыкальные инструменты, великолепные картины, столовое серебро и многое другое.  Если есть желание и время можно навещать  рынок Самгори (или Навтлуги, местные называют базар и так, и так). Иногда на нем можно найти очень неплохие вещи (гораздо привлекательнее и дешевле, чем на сухом мосту).

Картины местных художников.

Что может лучше сохранить воспоминания о месте, как не его изображение. Образы родной страны переносили на свои полотна Давида Мартиашвили, Елены Ахвледиани, Нико Пиросмани, Зураб Церетели, Ладо Тевдорадзе.  И если картина знаменитого мастера по карману не каждому, то Блошиный рынок на Сухом мосту выручит бюджетного туриста. картины там продаются весьма неплохие  и можно найти на разный вкус. Именно здесь современные художники представляют свои работы на различную тематику: от городских пейзажей до забавной анималистики