Georgia

Tourism in Georgia

Currently, Georgia is demonstrating an active development of the tourism business and a rapid growth in international tourist flows. In a country with an area of 69,700 km², a variety of tourist, recreational and natural resources are concentrated on a small territory, allowing the creation of diverse tourist clusters. The World Wildlife Fund has recognized that no country in Europe has such a rich flora and fauna as Georgia. Georgia ranks 12th among the states of the world with a variety of landscapes. The country’s tourist and recreational resources are promising for the development of various types of tourism. The presence of the Black Sea coast contributes to the formation of recreational beach tourism.

There are 182 resort places in Georgia, 2400 mineral water springs, which is a prerequisite for the development of balneological tourism of international importance. The slopes of the Greater Caucasus Range, whose height exceeds 4000 m, make it possible to develop mountain-skiing tourism, mountaineering, speleotourism, ecological and hiking tourism. The presence of 120 thousand historical and architectural monuments, among which 4 are included in the UNESCO World Cultural Heritage List, 150 museums contribute to the development of excursion tourism. 10 existing national parks are promising for the creation of tours of natural excursion tourism. Excellent opportunities in the country for agritourism, the formation of wine, culinary tours, both for domestic and foreign tourists.

Georgia has demonstrated one of the highest rates of tourism growth in the world during the period 2009-2019. The total number of arrivals to the country increased by more than 500% – from 1.5 million to 9 million people. The state strategy, all the measures taken, the hospitality and benevolent attitude towards the tourists of the residents of Georgia, allowed the prerequisites for the development of tourism to be realized and gradually made the tourism industry one of the foundations of the economic development of Georgia, giving rise to the Georgian “tourist miracle”. An important indicator of the development of the hospitality industry in Georgia is the return of visitors. Today, 75.8% are repeat visits. Tourists who enjoy their stay in Georgia often return again, and this is an indicator of the attractiveness of the country’s tourist complex.

Georgia has achieved impressive results. The “Strategy for the Development of Tourism in Georgia” adopted by the Government of Georgia was developed with the support of the World Bank. Tourism was named one of the priority areas of the economy. The strategy declares that tourism based on the principles of sustainable development is a promising direction for using the enormous tourism potential to achieve the goals of sustainable development in Georgia as a whole. The strategy is aimed at maximizing the degree of tourist satisfaction and further developing the tourism industry, the country can increase the number of received visitors to 11 million people per year and the expected further growth of the tourism industry’s contribution to the economic development of Georgia will be real. These optimal predictions are based on the following factors:

  • Very rich in unique historical and cultural monuments, the country is able to offer to those who wish – Cultural and Informative tours
  • Due to its location and an extensive network of large hotel brands – Business and Conference tours;
  • Many protected areas with unique flora and fauna – Eco and Adventure tours;
  • Unique balneological resorts with a healing climate, water, mud, etc. – Medical tourism;
  • Ancient temple and monastery complexes located in each region of the country – Religious tours;
  • With long experience in agriculture and animal husbandry, Georgia has a huge potential for the development of Rural and Agritourism;
  • Mountains make up 85% of the country’s territory, which arouses keen interest of climbers and mountain trekking enthusiasts;
  • Winter ski resorts – Gudauri, Bakuriani, Mastia – offer a full package of services;
  • For those who love gambling, Georgia can provide world class gambling establishments, without restrictive legislation.

And, what is important for tourists who are going on vacation to Georgia, Georgia is famous for its unsurpassed hospitality. A tourist in Georgia has no nationality. He is primarily a Guest. That’s right, with a capital letter. The guest, according to the Georgians, was sent by God, and spiritual values for this people are perhaps the most important thing in life. There is practically no crime in Georgia, local residents often do not even lock their houses and cars. In recent years, good roads have been laid throughout the country, many hotels and guesthouses have been built. The country is beautiful at any time of the year. You can travel and relax in Georgia in any season, all year round there is something to see and enjoy.

Georgia

Туризм в Грузии

В настоящее время  Грузия демонстрирует активное становление туристского бизнеса и бурный рост потоков международных туристов.  В стране, площадь которой 69 700 км², на небольшой территории сосредоточены разнообразные  туристические, рекреационные и природные ресурсы,  позволяющие создавать разноплановые туристские кластеры. Всемирный фонд  дикой природы признал, что ни одна страна Европы не обладает таким богатым растительным и животным миром, как Грузия. Среди государств мира, отличающихся разнообразием ландшафта, Грузия занимает 12 место . Туристско-рекреационные ресурсы страны перспективны для развития самых разных видов туризма. Наличие побережья Черного моря,  способствует формированию рекреационного пляжного туризма.

В Грузии имеется  182 курортных мест, 2400 источников минеральных вод , что является предпосылкой развития бальнеологического туризма международного значения. Склоны Большого Кавказского хребта, высота которого превышает 4000 м, позволяют развивать горно-лыжный туризм, альпинизм, спелеотуризм, экологический, пешеходный туризм.  Наличие 120 тыс. исторических и архитектурных памятников, среди которых 4 внесены в список Всемирного культурного наследия ЮНЕСКО, 150 музеев способствует развитию экскурсионного туризма. 10 существующих национальных парков перспективны для создания туров природно-экскурсионного туризма. Отличные возможности в стране для агротуризма, формирования винных, кулинарных туров, как для внутренних, так и для зарубежных туристов.

Грузия продемонстрировала один из самых высоких в мире темпов роста туризма в период 2009–2019 годов. Общее количество туристов  увеличилось более чем на 500 % – с 1,5 млн до 9 млн человек. Государственная стратегия, все принятые меры, гостеприимство и благожелательное отношение к туристам жителей Грузии, позволили предпосылкам развития туризма быть реализованными и постепенно сделали отрасль туризма одной из основ экономического развития Грузии, вызвав к жизни грузинское «туристское чудо».  Важным показателем развития индустрии гостеприимства в Грузии является возвратность визитёров. На сегодняшний день 75,8 % – это повторные визиты. Туристы, которым понравилось пребывание в Грузию, часто возвращаются снова, и это показатель привлекательности туристского комплекса страны.

Грузия добилась впечатляющих результатов.  Принятая правительством Грузии  «Стратегия развития туризма в Грузии», разработана при поддержке Всемирного банка.  Туризм назван одним из приоритетных направлений экономики. В стратегии декларируется, что туризм, основанный на принципах устойчивого развития, – перспективное направление для  использования громадного  туристического  потенциала,  для  достижения целей устойчивого развития в Грузии в целом. Стратегия нацелена на максимизацию степени удовлетворенности туристов и дальнейшее развитие туристской индустрии, страна может увеличить число принимаемых визитёров до 11 млн человек в год и ожидаемый дальнейший рост вклада индустрии туризма в экономическое развитие Грузии будет реален.  Такие оптимистические прогнозы обоснованы на следующих факторах:

  • Весьма богатая уникальными историческими и  культурными памятниками, страна способна предложить  желающим — Культурные и Познавателные туры
  • Благодаря своему месторасположению и обширной сети крупных гостиничных брэндов —  Деловые и Конференц-туры;
  • Множество защищенных территорий с уникальными флорой и фауной – Эко и Приключенческие туры;
  • Уникальные бальнеологические курорты с целебным климатом, водой, грязью и т. — Лечебный туризм;
  • Расположенные в каждом регионе страны древние храмовые и монастырские комплексы — Религиозные туры;
  • С давним опытом земледелия и животноводства, Грузия имеет огромный потенциал для развития Сельского и Агротуризма;
  • Горы составляют 85% территории страны, что вызывает живой интерес  Альпинистов  и Любителей горных поездок;
  • Зимние горнолыжные курорты – Гудаури, Бакуриани, Мэстия – предлагают полный пакет обслуживания;
  • Для тех, кто любит азартные игры, Грузия может предоставить игорные заведения мирового класса, без ограничительного законодательства.

И, что важно для туристов, которые собираются на отдых в Грузию, Грузия славится своим непревзойденным гостеприимством . Турист в Грузии не имеет национальности. Он в первую очередь Гость. Именно так, с большой буквы. Гость, как считают грузины, послан им Богом, а духовные ценности для этого народа, пожалуй, самое главное в жизни. В Грузии  практически полностью отсутствует преступность, местные жители часто даже не запирают свои дома и автомобили. За последние годы по всей стране проложили хорошие автомобильные дороги, построили множество отелей и гестхаусов.  Страна прекрасна в любое время года. Путешествовать и отдыхать в Грузии можно в любой сезон, круглый год здесь есть что посмотреть и чем насладиться.