GORI FORTESS

Gori fortess

Gori fortess (Region of Kartli)

Historical fortress in Shida Kartli was erected in downtown Gori, on the high rocky hillock. As archeological excavations show, the first fortified settlement here dates to IV-III cc. BC. In historical sources Gori fortress first was mentioned in XII century. Gori fortress had a strategic venue and holding it under control in Middle Ages meant establishment of control over province of Shida Kartli.

Gori fortress was renovated many times, including capital overhaul during the rein of Kartli Wali Rostom (1632-1658). The final face was given the fortress in 1774 when it was renovated by Erekle II. From 1802 Gori fortress became a station of Russian battalion of grenadiers. After that it lost practical importance. Gori fortress was severely damaged by earthquake in 1920.

Fortress was built with cobblestone. In old layers cut stone was also used. The outlines of the fortress are oval. The western part – Tskhrakara – is better preserved, on the southern and eastern parts there are support fences. In southern fence there is an arch gate. On the south-east side of the fortress there are ruins of a small church. The fortress had a tunnel for bringing water and a water pool.

 

Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

ГОРИСЦИХЕ

Gori fortess

Kрепость Гори  (Регион Картли)

Историческая крепость Гори воздвиг­нута в центре города Гори, на высоком скалистом холме. Первое укреплённое поселение, согласно археологическим данным, существовало ещё в IV-III вв. до н.э. В исторических источниках Горийская крепость впервые упоминается в XIII в. Эта крепость имела стратегическое значение, и овладение ею означало установление контроля над Шида Картли.

В Горийской крепости неоднократно проводились восстановительные работы, в том числе и основа­тель­ные – в период правления иранского вассала в Картли Ростома (1632-1658). Окончательный вид кре­пость приняла в 1774 году, кода царь Ираклий II реставрировал её. С 1802 года в Крепости Гори стоял русский гренадерский батальон. Затем кре­пость утеряла практическое значение. Большие повреж­дения нанесло крепости землетрясение в Гори в 1920 году.

Крепость возведена из булыжника. В старых слоях имеются обработанные камни. Она имеет овальную форму. Западная часть крепости – Цхракара – сох­ра­нилась лучше. С южной и восточной стороны находятся вспомогательные ограды. В юж­ной части ограды имеются полукруглые ворота. В юго-восточной части крепости находятся развалины маленькой церкви. Водой крепость снабжалась через туннель из имеющегося здесь водохранилища.

 

 

Comments

Добавить комментарий

Этот сайт использует Akismet для борьбы со спамом. Узнайте как обрабатываются ваши данные комментариев.