CHACHKARI

Chachkari

 

Chachkari (Region of Samtskhe-Javakheti)

Chachkari – the name of a medieval rocky village, which means in Georgian the gate of chacha (chachis kari). The word “chacha” in Georgian means grape cake. The village of Chachkari was founded in the 12th century during the reign of Queen Tamara. The main infrastructures of the village were terraces on which grapes and other crops were grown, various storage facilities and wine press. Numerous rock wine presses testify that viticulture and winemaking occupied a special place in the village.

The principle of construction is the same as in Vardzia, Vanis Kvabebi, Gelsunda and other settlements of the Kura gorge in this corner of Georgia. However, if these settlements had a defensive or religious significance, Chachkari specialized in the agricultural profile. It has over fifty rocky wine presses, each of which could squeeze up to 4 tons of wine. Naturally, in addition to wine, fortified drinks were also produced in large quantities.

It is said that the village and Vardzia were connected by a secret tunnel through which wine and food entered the cave city. The grapes grown in the vineyards cut into the rock in the village were first squeezed out on the spot and then the juice was sent to Vardzia and poured into jugs. Historians name up to 40 Meskhetian vines of Chachkari that have survived to this day, one of which is about 400 years old. The Ottoman trace – the devastation of Samtskhe-Javakheti, total destruction, genocide, mass resettlement and Islamization made themselves felt. The village of Chachkari has been abandoned for about 100 years.

 

 

 

Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

ЧАЧКАРИ

Chachkari

Чачкари (Регион Самцхе — Джавахети)

Чачкари — название средневекового скального села, означающего по-грузински ворота чача (чачис кари). Слово «чача» по-грузински означает виноградный жмых. Село Чачкари было основано в 12 веке при царице Тамара. Основными инфраструктурами села были террасы, на которых выращивался виноград и другие культуры, разные хранилища и винодавильни. Многочисленные скальные давильни вина свидетельствуют о том, что в селе  виноградарство и виноделие занимали особое место.

Принцип постройки такой же, как в Вардзии, Ванис Квабеби, Гелсунда и других поселений ущелья Куры в этом уголке Грузии. Однако, если эти населённые пункты имели оборонительное или религиозное значение, Чачкари специализировался по сельскохозяйственному профилю. В нем насчитывается свыше пятидесяти скальных винодавилен, в каждой из которых могло выдавливаться до 4 тонн вина. Естественно, что кроме вина здесь производились в большом количестве и крепленые напитки.

Говорят, что деревня и Вардзия были соединены секретным туннелем, через который в пещерный город поступали вино и продукты. Виноград, выращенный в вырубленных в скале в деревне виноградниках, сначала выдавливали на месте и  потом сок отправляли в Вардзию и разливали в кувшины. Историки называют до 40 месхетинских лоз Чачкари, сохранившихся до наших дней, одной из которых около 400 лет. Османский след — опустошение Самцхе-Джавахети, тотальное разрушение, геноцид, массовое переселение и исламизация дали о себе знать. Село Чачкари заброшено уже около 100 лет.

Comments

Добавить комментарий

Этот сайт использует Akismet для борьбы со спамом. Узнайте как обрабатываются ваши данные комментариев.